what did you just say?

just a sarcastic working mom living life in New England

Odd one out January 9, 2009

Filed under: Me,things I love — nashsmom @ 10:46 pm
Tags:

I prefer Miracle Whip over mayonaise and margarine over butter.  I  think cashmere is itchy.  As a teenager, I preferred Loverboy over the Rolling Stones.  I love reading fiction but I can’t for the life of me get through any book written by Wally Lamb.  And when I tell someone I don’t like cheese?   You’d think I just told them I hate puppies.  

But when everyone started raving about Mad Men, I thought THAT would be a bandwagon I could jump on and hang with the majority of the population.  I loved the idea of it and I do work in advertising so I had to love it, right?  The first couple episodes were fun.  Seeing all of the authentic 60’s clothes, props and set designs was cool.  And watching a pregnant woman smoke and a little kid play with a huge plastic bag – too funny!  But Don Draper got a little old and show seemed to creep along at a snail’s pace.  The novelty wore off and I bailed.   But I recently ordered up disc one of the  DVD for a little show called Swingtown.  And this?  This I like!

It takes place in the 70’s so perhaps it’s because I can relate to the era a bit more.  Seeing someone pop open in ice cold Tab while sunning themselves covered in baby oil brings back some splendid memories!   But alas, it’s not called That 70’s show, it’s called Swingtown and like the name says, the folks in this town are good old fashioned, have -sex-with-your-neighbors swingers.  We’re only four episodes into it, but unlike Mad Men, I can’t wait to see the next episode.  The cast is great and the music fantastic.  There are tons of great songs in every episode (that must have cost them a fortune) and even if my husband is convinced that it’s just the entire Boogie Nights soundtrack, it still rocks 70’s style.  So bake up a pan of  tuna noodle casserole and check it out.  

So there.  Now I’m the girl that prefers Swingtown over the award winning Mad Men.  Will you still love me?

 

5 Responses to “Odd one out”

  1. Lisa Says:

    OMG! You don’t like cheese???

  2. nashsmom Says:

    Nope. No kind of cheese including, but not limited to, cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream, macaroni and cheese and most of all my arch nemesis – blue cheese. ewwwwwww.

  3. Ilana Says:

    Tell her the weird part, though. You like cheese on your pizza.

    I love you, but you are the crazy.

    On a related note, this is my favorite thing from The Family Guy, and may perhaps be my favorite piece of animation ever, including (gasp!) The Simpsons. Of course, the dinks at Fox made a copyright claim on the YouTube version with video, so this is just audio, but imagine that they’re in a panic room that’s filling up with water.

  4. darcy Says:

    i love both those shows but I hate mayo.

  5. nashsmom Says:

    I’ve also been known to eat Cheetos. Go figure. Just another one of life’s great mysteries……


Leave a Reply

