what did you just say?

just a sarcastic working mom living life in New England

Peace out January 12, 2009

Filed under: Me — nashsmom @ 10:33 pm

I’m not sure how to start this one, so I’m just winging it.

My Grandma Evie died today.

evie

 She was an amazing lady.  Full of class and smart as a whip.  She taught me a lot of things and I can’t possibly do her justice right now.  But I’ll share one short story.

Right around my 40th birthday (and nearing her 90th) we were hanging out and I asked her what advice she would give me.  Here’s this woman that has lived this amazing life and I’m preparing for her to enlighten me with her profound wisdom.  She thinks about it for a really long time and I’m starting to panic because I don’t have a pen and paper and what if I can’t remember everything she says??  

Then she turned to me and said: “Be happy”.  

That’s it.  Just two little words.  And at first I thought, ‘What?  That’s it??’  But let me tell you, I’ve thought about her telling me those two little words so many times since then and you know what?  She was on to something.  Be happy.   If you can accomplish that, what more do you need?

I’m taking the next week or so off from blogging but  will leave you with a few more pics of Evelyn Strand, a woman who will be missed tremendously. 

gg-evie-and-nash

Nash with his Great Grandma Evie

 

eviemariaricky

Me and my big brother Rick with Grandma and Grandpa Strand

 

 

Evelyn C. Strand

1917-2009

 

7 Responses to “Peace out”

  1. Lori Says:

    She was the most beautiful person I’ve ever known.
    RIP Grandma.

  2. Jen W Says:

    So sorry for your loss. She sounds amazing and smart. I hope your fond memories will bring you joy in your grief.

  3. darcy Says:

    oh nashs mom. oh. so sorry.

  4. Jamie Says:

    I am so sorry. If we can do anything for you, let us know.

  5. deidre Says:

    So sorry M. How lucky for you that you had her for so long.

  6. Ilana Says:

    I’m sorry, honey.

  7. Lisa Says:

    So sorry to hear about Evie. “Be Happy.” I like that.


Leave a Reply

