what did you just say?

just a sarcastic working mom living life in New England

California Dreamin’ February 18, 2009

Filed under: things I love — nashsmom @ 8:40 am

Greetings from California!  Just a quick post from the family vacation.  A certain someone refuses to adjust to the new time zone and as awesome as it is to have a sleeping child at 7 PM every night, it blows to be woke up at 4 (yes, FOUR) nearly every morning.   So now as I wait for the coffee place down on the dock to open, I shall blog.

We are having the best time on this trip.  We’ve been staying with one of my best friends, Jennifer (a/k/a Jenfrensen) in Santa Monica where she has been taking excellent care of us.  We’re being lazy while still doing our touristy thing.  Day one we headed  to Hollywood and being the geek I am, I wanted to check out the Kodak Theatre which is preparing for the Oscars.  And who did we run into “straight away” as Nash would say?  His hero:

snoopHe was way more excited than he looks in this photo, trust. me. We cruised Hollywood and checked out my old stomping grounds.  So much has changed since I lived here, but it was fun to see the old ‘hood and show Nash the Capitol Records building.   

Day 2 we had a play date with my friend Jennifer and her son Autry who is 6 months older than Nash.  It was so great to see them meet for the first time!  They had a fun day together but then Nash started to seem a bit out of it and clearly had a fever so off we went and he slept for about 14 hours.  After speaking with my pal Dottie from his doctor’s office, it was determined that he likely had a virus that has been going around (which he’s now brought to the West Coast – Sorry, JJ!) .  

So a shot of Motrin, lots of liquids and our boxes of tissues (did I mention that we’re all sick?)  we headed to San Diego for Day 3 – Sea World!  This was the single greatest family vacation day EVER!  We all just loved every single part of it.  There were hardly any  people and we could walk right up to the front of every exhibit.  We fed  and pet dolphins!  We fed sea lions!  We touched stingrays!   WE SAW MANATEES!!!   And, oh yeah, killer whales.  It was amazing, amazing, amazing.   We stayed until they kicked us out.  We even discussed going back today but I think today is zoo day.

That’s all for now.   More photos and stories when we return…..

 

4 Responses to “California Dreamin’”

  1. Lori Says:

    Sounds like great fun! Miss you – we need to catch up.

  2. Lisa Says:

    “straight away”? Has he become British?
    And as soon as I read “Sea World” I thought, “MANATEES!” Sounds like a great time! Enjoy!

  3. Jamie Says:

    I am so glad Sea World was even better than you hoped! Tell Nash that Kolya misses him. I myself am counting the days until 2/28…and, of course, we all love Jeff.

  4. Jen W Says:

    Hopefully everyone is feeling better and you enjoy the rest of your trip!!!


Leave a Reply

