what did you just say?

just a sarcastic working mom living life in New England

St. Patty’s Day March 18, 2009

Filed under: oddly interesting — nashsmom @ 5:09 pm
Tags:

leprechaun

I thought yesterday was just another day until Nash woke up and immediately asked me if I thought the leprechauns had come to his classroom the night before.  Huh?  Ohhh, it’s St. Patrick’s Day.  Right.  (Note to self: dress kid in something green) So I asked about these leprechauns and he proceeded to tell me that they were mischievous little guys who apparently snuck into their classroom last year and tipped over all the chairs.  Leprechaun shenanigans!  I love it!!  For breakfast he said he HAD to have Lucky Charms (and promised to not just eat the marshmallows – and kept that promise) and as a bonus, I made him toast that I made green with food coloring.  He didn’t know what to make of it.  Is it painted?  I can’t eat paint!  Is that cinnamon on it?  Really?  I can eat it??  Possibly the most exciting thing I have ever “cooked” for him.  (very exciting mommy moment).  

The hubby and I dropped our green clad child off at school and headed in to Boston.  He for a big expert witness deposition and me for that job I’m still clinging to.  We flew in in record time with barely any traffic.  We couldn’t figure it out.  Is St. Patrick’s day considered a holiday??   Apparently in Boston, it is.  BUT it’s actually called Evacuation Day and has nothing to do with drinking green beer or mischievous little leprechauns and their pots of gold.  According to Wikipedia:  

The holiday commemorates the evacuation of British forces from the city of Boston following the Siege of Boston, early in the American Revolutionary War.   

So there you have it.  School and Government offices are closed, traffic is light and everyone is wearing green.  Happy Evacuation Day!  13 years living here in Massachusetts and I’m just learning about  this one.   I am however well aware of the next big fake holiday, Patriots’ Day, because my office is closed and I’ll finally have a day off!  What is this epic holiday you ask?  Per Wikipedia it is:

A civic holiday commemorating the anniversary of the Battles of Lexington and Concord, the first battles of the American Revolutionary War.

But really it’s Marathon Monday, the day the Boston Marathon is run making it impossible to get in or around the city what with the 20,000 runners running down the streets and half a million spectators.

I love these fake holidays!!  What next?  Is someone going to tell me there’s some holiday where we celebrate the resurrection of J.C. by eating chocolate bunnies and jelly beans??    (OK, I totally stole that from the late great Bill Hicks….)

 

2 Responses to “St. Patty’s Day”

  1. Ilana Says:

    Why not goldfish left Lincoln Logs in your sock drawer?

    xo,

    im

    PS – your husband the expert witness? Impressive.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Leprechauns in the classroom! What creative teacher thought up that idea?


Leave a Reply

