what did you just say?

just a sarcastic working mom living life in New England

The New Ya-Ya’s August 2, 2009

Filed under: things I love — nashsmom @ 7:58 pm

They did it. Ms Picket and Carolyn….On-line have gone and written themselves a book – and it is fantastic!  

To

I’m not going to write a review because I don’t do that sort of thing.  So I’m just going to blog about this fantastic little book I just read and it’s going to go something like this…..

I love to read.   I especially love reading biographies.  Historical, celebrity, survivors – I love them all.  This summer I’ve read Larry King, Tori Spelling (and Candy’s – had to hear both sides but hands down Candy’s the bitch – just sayin’) and Melissa Gilbert’s  books (did you know she “dated” Billy Idol and George Clooney??  And loved the booze and cocaine??) . 

But I also dig a good fiction chick book.  One of my all time favorites being The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.  When I first read this book I couldn’t put it down.   Me and my hubby were in Montreal and I couldn’t wait to see how it ended and one night, after he went to sleep, I stayed up until 3 in the morning sitting in the bathtub of our hotel room (in my pjs) to finish it.    I loved it so much that if Nash were a girl, his name was going to be Vivienne  so I could call him her Vivi after the main character of the book.  It’s about friendship and motherhood.  It’s about having fun, drinking too much and doing wild and crazy things.  It’s about loving husbands that sometimes say or do the wrong thing.  It’s about teaching your children to not be afraid (the elephant ride??) and to be the best that they can be.  And it all revolves around this big old scrapbook that the Ya-Ya’s kept filled with their memories.

Darcy and Carolyn have rolled these two favorite things together.  They’ve modernized my favorite fiction book with the true story look at their own lives.  In their story, the Ya-Ya’s aren’t friends that grew up together since grade school, but friends that meet over the internet via their blogs.  Yet  before they ever even met face to face, they had just as strong of a friendship as Vivi and Teensy.   And in their story, their blogs and e-mails play the role of the scrapbook.  Oh, and instead of mint juleps they drink Miller Lite.  

These ladies are storytellers and writers.  They’re all thinky one minute and cursing like a trucker the next.  Every page holds a new story that will seem oddly familiar.  Holidays with crazy relatives, fights with husbands, struggles with kids, and that always elusive question –  “what the hell am I doing?”.

It’s a page turner.  Even if you don’t know a thing about these girls, you’ll immediately be drawn into their lives and feel like you’ve known them forever.  And you’ll love them.   And cheer for them.   All those things you’re afraid to tell anyone?  They have the balls to say it out loud AND in print.   You’ll want to know what happens next.  And guess what?  You’ll be able to find out by reading the continuing story on their respective blogs.  Or maybe you’ll just catch them when they’re on Oprah after she’s given “To” her stamp as a Book Club read.

I didn’t finish this one in the bathtub (but I totally would have had that been an option).  I read a little on the train Friday and then during moms-day-off-at-the-mall yesterday as I treated myself to a long solo lunch at Joe’s American Grill (holla!) where I nearly finished it off (along with a sangria – have you tried these??  amazing!) but completed it early this morning sitting in a rocking chair inherited from Ms. Picket herself which just seemed right.

I would offer to lend you my copy, but let’s support these gals and order your own copy.  I promise after you’ve read it, you’ll be glad you did.  As the poorly written slogan says, click here and Just Do It.

 

3 Responses to “The New Ya-Ya’s”

  1. It’s official.

    YOU ARE MY FAVORITE.

  2. This is the first thing I’ve read about our little work of art… I am in awe. In awe that you read it. In awe that you liked it. In awe that you were so kind.

    Thank you for reading it and being open to its weirdness.

    Seriously – thank you!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Maria, I hate to tell you, but I think you just wrote a book review!
    This little book is on my list!! Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

